How to Get a Library Card
In order to borrow library materials from the Belmont County District Library, you must have a library card from the Belmont County District Library system or from one of the cooperating libraries. A library card is free to residents of Ohio, upon presentation of proof of residence. You must show a photo ID with your current address. If your ID does not show your current address, please bring an official piece of canceled mail or a copy of your lease or utility bill. Those below the age of 18 must have signed parental consent. Out of state residents may purchase a card for $5.00 per year.
Library cards are mailed within a few days of receiving your application. When you apply for a library card, you are allowed to check out one item. When you receive your library card in the mail you will have full privileges. Your library card allows you to check out books & magazines, access online databases, download eBooks, borrow materials from other libraries and endless other possibilities for educational and recreational learning and enjoyment. We have music CD’s and of course, DVD and Blu-Ray movies and documentaries.
Juvenile Library Cards (anyone under 18 years of age)
The legal guardian or parent must be present and show a photo ID when applying for a juvenile library card. The legal guardian or parent must indicate whether or not they want the child to have access to the Internet, check out DVD's or limit the number of items checked out. The parent or legal guardian is financially responsible for all library material checked out on the child's library card.
Library services are free and available to all; however, non-Ohio residents must pay $5.00 a year for use of their library card. Use of the Internet, through the Ohio Public Library Information Network (OPLIN) requires signed agreement with our Internet Use Policy; for those under the age of 18 it also requires the signed agreement of a parent or guardian.
A patron may check out unlimited library materials except DVDs and CD's. You may borrow up to 6 DVD's and 6 music CD's. DVD's may be borrowed for a one week period and are renewable if there are no holds on the item. Children under the age of 18 must have signed parental permission to borrow DVD's.
Books, non-current Magazines and CD's are loaned for a three week period, and may be renewed for an additional three weeks, as long as there are no holds on the item. New magazines are loaned for a one week period. Renewals may be made on the website, in person or by telephone.
Loan Periods and Fines
Patrons may not check out items if there is a balance of $1.00 or more on their account or a household member's account.
|New Magazines||1 week||.20||10.00|
|Non-current Magazines||3 weeks||.20||10.00|
|Audio Books & Books on CD||3 weeks||.20||10.00|
|Compact Discs||3 weeks||.20||10.00|
Patrons are encouraged to return library materials on or before their due date to avoid fines and to make the items available to other patrons.
Patrons are responsible for all library materials that they check out. If a patron loses a library item, they will be required to pay the replacement cost of the item. If the library staff determines that an item has been damaged beyond repair, the patron will be charged the replacement cost. If a patron finds a lost item that they have paid for, a refund will be issued. Refunds will only be issued for items returned with a receipt and within 90 days of payment, minus a $10.00 administrative fee.
The Belmont County District Library has contracted with a collection agency to assist in recovering non-returned library materials and unpaid fines. All unresolved accounts over $25.00 will be turned over to Unique Management Services, Inc. and an additional charge of $10.00 will be added to the balance.
Most items can be renewed, unless holds have been placed on them. Renewals can be done in person with your card or the item, over the phone with your card number or online. Most new items, such as bestsellers, are often not available for renewal.
You may return items to any of the Belmont County District Library branch locations. All branch locations have bookdrops available outside the library for after hours returns. You may also return items to any cooperating library.
The hold procedure is a way to reserve a particular item for yourself. This item may be checked-out or may belong to another cooperating library. By placing a hold, you ensure that you will receive a copy of the item.
You can place a hold on most items that you find in the online catalog. You may do this from your home computer, at the library's online catalog or over the telephone. To do this yourself, you need your library card number. If you call the library, you must have your card number available and library staff will be happy to place a hold for you. When the library receives the item, you will be notified by telephone, text or email. You have 7 days to pick up the item.